Skip navigation

A few days ago, when my sister asked my opinions about this long distance relationship she’s having, all I could tell her is this,

“The society has fucked us up enough. Just because everybody get outta college, find a job, get married, have kids, have more kids, turn old, fat and ugly, we don’t have to follow their footsteps. We don’t have to do it just because everybody is doing it. If you think you’ll be fine on your own, why not? It is a privilege. If you think you need someone significant, just because it’s nice to have shoulders to cry on, remember, that very same person might also drive you nuts and you’ll miss that 5 minutes of being on your own so bad. And you’ll start to think about those privileges you used to have, and you’ll be tortured with lotsa ‘what-if’s. I’m not saying that I regret my decision of getting married. I’m just at the beginning of my journey. I can’t even list down the pros and cons of being married yet. It’s too early. All I can say is that, if you think you can live without that person and this is not working. Get out of it and live your life. Being on your own is way underrated.”

I guess, I’m not the best sister in the world. Oh well.

4 Comments

  1. I agree, LDR is the easiest way to find out whether he or she is a strong candidate for marriage institution. You are bluntly honest, but thats okay.. it is the best things a sister can do for you

  2. good answer ste :)

  3. i’ve never been in an LDR situation but been in an uncommon situation to this society.
    that time, my brother gave me his brutal-yet-honest opinion.
    that time, i also knew he did that because he wanted the best for me
    and to this day, i still think that he is the best brother ever.

    so, ste.. i guess you’re doing great :)

  4. Thanks, ladies. You’ve made me feel better. :D


Leave a Reply

